January 25, 2012 – Testing Continues for L

I am watching L nap beside me on the couch while hugging my leg and using it as a pillow. He had to get up early for a third day of tests this week. He has been a brave little guy.

Last Friday we learned the result of the VCUG. Everything was functioning but he didn’t completely empty his bladder. More tests were ordered to get information about what is going on. So Monday I took L for bladder scan #1 on the pediatric floor of the hospital. He retained a little bit of urine in the test. Bladder scan #2 was Tuesday and it showed that his bladder was empty after peeing. Today at the imaging center was ultrasounds of the kidneys, bladder, groin, and testicles followed by an abdominal x-ray. Tomorrow evening or Monday we hope to have some results. Then next Thursday we will meet with an urologist. I am hoping L will soon be doing better and can return to his place on the potty train after this derailment.
With the early test this morning, A had stayed with my parents overnight. L has missed his brother terribly. This is only the second time they have been apart overnight. L has frequently said “I want A.” B and I have missed A too. We are so used to having both boys or neither if they have a sleepover with Nana and Pop. I realize now just how much I appreciate my boys playing and entertaining each other. I spent almost every moment of yesterday entertaining L. It was nice to have the one on one time but I’ll admit I was wanting a me moment in there too somehow.

Leave a comment