January 27, 2014 – My Wayward L

Once again I’ve neglected my blog. I’ve thought quite a few times I needed to do some writing but I didn’t want to cry. My little L is on my heart and I have been/am worried about him. He missed three days of school before Christmas vacation due to running a fever/tonsillitis. He was pitiful. He had his tonsils and adenoids removed the day after Christmas. It took most of his Christmas vacation to get healed from surgery. He is resting so much better and doing great physically. L continues to have social, behavior issues. He just seems to be getting worse. He has been refusing to do classwork. He won’t stay in his seat. He has meltdowns. He threw blocks in class last week and busted a little girl’s hand. He won’t follow directions. He yells and screams in class and at home. It really seems out of his control. I had him referred to be evaluated at the children’s hospital in the region. It may take a while to have him seen. I just don’t know what to do in the meantime. I am wincing at the thought of how he is behaving. You can speak to him and he won’t respond. He won’t maintain eye contact. Something isn’t right. I’m afraid for his future. 

Leave a comment