May 23, 2013 – Diagnosis Scoliosis, Surgery, and Coping

She (costochondritis) seems to be easing with the meds, heating pad, and rest. I am glad for that and I really hope it will not be a chronic issue. I learned my scoliosis x-ray results today. I do have mild scoliosis. It is an 18 degree curve at T 11 on my spine. I’ll go back for follow-up x-rays in 6 months to check if the scoliosis is progressing. I also have some back exercises to try that my doctor recommended. I’m relieved to have an answer but I’m afraid of what progression could mean if that occurs. If I hadn’t had heartburn and abdominal pain, I wouldn’t have had the upper GI done. I’m glad the upper GI was normal but that also showed the curve I had no idea was there. I’m thankful I spoke up and asked for the scoliosis x-rays. I’m glad to know what is going on there. It explains possibly the costochondritis. I think I can blame losing an inch in height with scoliosis. I’ve been thinking I’ve been imagining feeling like my shoulders were off in some way and my posture was harder to maintain. I know I wasn’t imagining that now. It is an uneasy feeling with a touch of relief if that makes any sense. I’ve just got to put the what ifs aside and deal with each day. It may mean I’m dealing with pain like I have the last few days in my left shoulder and back.

On another layer medical mess, I saw a surgeon this week about removing my pilar cyst. It showed up about 6 months after I gave birth to the little men. It wasn’t that big at first and I wish I had it dealt with back then. It could have been an in office procedure. Unfortunately, I’ve let the cyst grow to the point I’m having outpatient surgery for removal under general anesthesia at the hospital next month. It is a little bigger around than a quarter and is raised about a half inch. I’ve lost hair on the cyst so I have a bit of a bald area on the top left of my head. A pilar cyst isn’t really the kind of thing that can be drained. It is an encasement of keratin. The whole capsule has to be removed. I think I’m dreading finding out how much hair was shaved in the surgical area, seeing the scar, and the pain as it heals. The surgeon said he wouldn’t know if he would use staples or stitches until he is working on it. He also said cutting on the scalp causes excessive bleeding when removing a pilar cyst. He told me that a bunch of goop would be put on the wound that can be washed out in the shower the next day. I’m guessing that June 10th will be the worst hair day ever.

I’m focused on leaning on B, my family, LM and other dear friends when things get too much. I was reminded recently that all that is going on with my health doesn’t just affect me. It affects B and the boys too. I’m really working on talking about my feelings and what I need with B. I’m trying not to hold everything in. I’ve got to pray about things. God will help me through the hard days.

Leave a comment